Change the default viewpoint of an issue

Change the default viewpoint of an issue

By default, the first viewpoint that is added to an issue when the issue is created, is used as the main viewpoint of the issue. The snapshot of this viewpoint is displayed as a thumbnail in all issue overviews in the BIMcollab ecosystem and is used to quickly identify the issue. However, in some cases the first viewpoint of an issue no longer shows an accurate depiction of the current status of the issue.
For that reason, BIMcollab offers more flexibility in the selection of the main viewpoint. Viewpoints that have been added to the issue later, can be set as default by following these steps:
  1. From your checking or modelling software, add the new viewpoint to the issue by adding a comment to the issue.
    Learn more about adding comments to your issues from the article Edit and comment on issues
  2. Go to your project in BIMcollab Cloud.
  3. From the issue list, click on the issue for which you want to change the viewpoint.
  4. The comment and new viewpoint are present in the issue history.
    Click on the 'Set as Default' button next to the correct viewpoint.



  5. The new viewpoint will be visible for all users in the issue overviews and issue details.



  6. The first viewpoint is saved in the history of the issue in order to provide a full audit trail.
For Smart Issues, the viewpoint can be updated automatically to reflect the latest status of the linked clashes.


    • Related Articles

    • Good issue management

      Using an issue management platform like BIMcollab Cloud can save time, avoid mistakes and create transparency within a team. As powerful as BIMcollab’s issue management may be, if it is not used in a structured way, the full potential may not be ...
    • Delete an issue

      Sometimes it may be necessary to delete issues from a project in BIMcollab Cloud. This could be due to them being created by mistake or being duplicates. This article describes how the space administrator can assign users the right to delete issues ...
    • User groups and issue visibility

      In Connected and Enterprise plans, project leaders can setup user groups to manage who can see issues, and to whom issues can be assigned. Each team member can be added to one or more groups. Groups represent subteams within your project. They need ...
    • Change payment method to automatic

      Recently, our credit card security has been updated. As a safety measure, your payment method may have been reset to manual. To make sure your next invoice is payed automatically, update your payment information. Changes to the payment method of your ...
    • Change the billing information and payment method of a subscription

      Changes to the billing information and payment method can be made at any time manually via the administrator dashboard of the space. To access both the billing and payment information, go to the Administration page clicking on Settings  > ...