Communication statuses and actions

Communication statuses and actions

Communication items, specifically Questions and Tasks, are items enter a coordination workflow that often has multiple rounds of back and forth communication. The responsible party needs to provide the answer for the status of the item to change, and when the answer is satisfactory, the the sender can approve the answer. Completed communication is no longer editable, but can always be viewed. All actions and changes are tracked in Communications (1).

Statuses

  1. Open -A new question or action is created with an Open status.
  2. Urgent - When the end date has passed, the status changes to Urgent.
  3. Answered - The communication is given the Answered status when an answer has been given.
  4. Completed - When the sender is approves the answer, they can accept the answer in the Handling window at the bottom of the page.
  5. Canceled - When the sender decides to cancel the raised communication item, the status is updated the Canceled.

Actions

  1. Create communication - When a new question or a task is added, the status is open (2).
  2. Edit - The sender can always edit the subject or the message, change the end date or add an attachment using the edit button (3). A message can be canceled by the creator after posting, as long as it has not been already answered. Changes are always tracked and visible in the Questions list.
  3. Reply - The recipient of the message can reply to the question (4). Additionally, an attachment can also be added for further clarification. Not only the recipient, but also employees of the same company may reply. The status will be change to Answered.
  4. Informed - Users can add themselves (5) as informed . The communication item will now be added to the overview in the personal dashboard.
  5. Comments - Any user with access to the project can add a comment (6) on a message, even if the question is not addressed to them. This way, additional information can come from someone not involved in the original communication.
  6. Handle - After the question or action has been answered, the sender still needs to review the answer. When accepted, the status will change to Completed. After a question or action has been completed, it can't be edited anymore.




    • Related Articles

    • Communication module

      The communication module hosts communication across all items on BIMcollab Twin. All communication on the project is collected in this module. Communication on BIMcollab Twin is public and visible for all parties involved who have access to the ...
    • Adding communication

      A question, note or a task item can be created in two places in BIMcollab Twin. 1. General communication is created in the Communication module of the relevant project. 2. Item specific communication can also be added and attached to a specific ...
    • Adding communication to object(type)

      To add communication to 3D objects, go to the 3D objects module. When the model is loaded, in the view, select the object (1) to which you want to add the communication. Then, in the right sidebar, open the Communication panel (2). There you'll find ...
    • Revisions

      With Document Revisions, available in the Ultimate Plan, you can assign a document (or a set of documents) to be revised and track the process. Once a revision is assigned to a user, the document(s) in the revision are frozen. This means that no new ...
    • Get Started with BIMcollab Twin for Admins

      This Get Started guide describes the functionalities and configuration of your BIMcollab Twin space. It will get you up and running in no time. Your space has already been activated by our team. When ordering a space, you were asked to provide ...