Skip to main content

Documents retention plan for BIMcollab spaces

Documents retention plan: keep your BIMcollab space available without active licenses

If you no longer need to actively work in your BIMcollab space because your projects have ended or are on hold, you may not want to keep a full subscription running. At the same time, you may still want to keep your project documents available for reference or later reactivate your full subscription again.

The Documents retention plan is designed for this situation. It puts your BIMcollab space into an retention mode, so your project data is retained and your space remains available without an active set of user licenses.

What happens when a space moves to a Documents retention plan?

When your space is switched to a Documents retention plan:

  • Your BIMcollab space remains active.

  • Your project data is retained.

  • Regular user licenses are no longer available.

  • Existing issues are preserved, but they cannot be accessed while the space is on this plan.

  • Published documents remain available for viewing and downloading.

  • Published models can still be viewed in the Model WebViewer.

  • Guest access remains available for up to 5 Guests.

  • Space administrators can only access the space as Guests while it is on this plan.

  • You can upgrade the space to an active plan to startup your projects or start new projects at any time.

The retention plan is intended for viewing and preserving information, not for continuing active project work. Creating, editing or managing project information requires reactivating a regular subscription.

For what subscriptions is the Document retention plan available?

The Document retention plan is available for spaces on the following subscription levels: Basic, Premium, Advanced and Enterprise.
​
Make sure that any documents or models you want to access later have been published before switching to the retention plan. Only published information remains available to Guests in retention mode.

⚠️ Attention: The Document retention plan is not directly available if your current subscription is an Essential plan.
​
In this case we advise the following steps:

  1. Upgrade the space from Essential to Basic.

  2. Publish the documents and models you want to remain available.

  3. Contact or sales team to switch the Basic subscription to a Document retention plan.

What happens to issues?

Issues are not deleted when a space is in the retention mode. They remain stored in the space so they can become available again if the subscription is reactivated.

However, issues cannot be viewed or managed while the space is set to retention mode.

Can I reactivate a space in retention mode?

Yes. The purpose of the Document retention plan is to keep your BIMcollab space and its data available while active collaboration is paused.

If you need to start working in the space again, you can reactivate a regular subscription. Your retained project information will then become available again according to the features and licenses included in the selected subscription.

How do I switch to the Document retention plan?

The Document retention plan is available with a yearly payment term only.

If you want to retain your BIMcollab space or to discuss reactivation, please contact your BIMcollab representative or our Sales team by sending an email to [email protected] .

Did this answer your question?