User groups and issue visibility
In Connected and Enterprise plans, project leaders can setup user groups to manage who can see issues, and to whom issues can be assigned.
Each team member can be added to one or more groups. Groups represent subteams within your project. They need to be setup in the BIMcollab project by a project leader before they can be used.
Once defined, users can be assigned to one or more groups by the project leader in the Team member settings of the project.
- Go to the Settings page of your project
- Select the Team member tab
- Click on any of the team members to edit them, and add them to the desired group(s)
When this field is activated for a project, it is possible to define which team members can view the issue when an issue is created in the project.
By default, you have 4 options to define the visibility to hide issues from specific users:
- Only me
- My company
- Project leaders
If these options are not sufficient for the needs of the project, the custom user groups can help with visibility management.
User groups and confidential issues are a feature of the Connected and Enterprise plan.
Issues of which visibility is set to a specific group, will only be seen by the team members belonging to this group. Team members which are not included in the visibility choice will never see the issue.
The creator and the owner of an issue (to which the issue is assigned) can always see the issue.
Be careful with which team members you share project reports when using confidential issues. When creating a project or activities report you have the option to exclude items which are not visible to all.
Limit assignment of issues
Apart from visibility, the user groups can also be used to limit to which users a team member can assign their issues.
If the option 'Only allow to assign issues to members of the team member's usergroup(s)' is enabled in the project's settings
, team members can only assign issues to other team members that are part of the same groups. Since a team member can be part of multiple groups, it is also possible to assign issues across multiple user groups.
Change the default viewpoint of an issue
By default, the first viewpoint that is added to an issue when the issue is created, is used as the main viewpoint of the issue. The snapshot of this viewpoint is displayed as a thumbnail in all issue overviews in the BIMcollab ecosystem and is used ...
Delete an issue
BIMcollab Cloud keeps track of all issues and every change that is made to provide a full audit trail. That's why it is not possible for any user or admin to delete existing issues or changes made to these issues. After issues are resolved you can ...
When importing issues from BCF or CSV files, imported issues could be brought in assigned to a user that hasn't yet been added to the project. This user is added to the Users list of your space as a 'Pending User' and will be shown greyed-out in the ...
Good issue management
Using an issue management platform like BIMcollab Cloud can save time, avoid mistakes and create transparency within a team. As powerful as BIMcollab’s issue management may be, if it is not used in a structured way, the full potential may not be ...
Add a user who was previously deleted from the space
When a user is deleted from a private space, they no longer have access to the space and they are moved to the deleted users list. When trying to add the user again as a new user, the space administrator will receive the notification "This email ...