The approval workflow
is a more formal way of working that allows for the resolution of an issue to be first checked and approved before being marked definitively as closed. This way you have more control over the resolution of an issue. With the assistance of an extra issue status and
, the management of issues can be done in a more transparent way, guaranteeing that no issue is ever closed without proper reviewing.
Enable the approval workflow in a project
The approval workflow can be switched on or of for every seperate project in your space. To enable the possibility to approvers to issues in a project, follow the steps below.
- As a Project Leader, go to the settings of the project.
- Switch on the toggle 'Use approval workflow'.
- Once the toggle is on, the field 'Approval' will appear in the issue settings.
The lifetime of an issue in the approval workflow
The status of an issue will change throughout its life cycle. There are three default options available for the status of an issue:
Closed. When the approval workflow is enabled, another status is added to the available options:
- When creating an issue, assign the issue to the person who needs to resolve the problem, and select users who need to approve the resolution of the issue after it has been resolved.
After creation, the status of the issue will be Active.
- The person to whom the issue is assigned, will implement a solution for the problem, and mark the issue as Resolved. The resolution will need to be approved by the team members who have been added to the Approval field. They will get a notification that they have to approve the issue, and the issue will be marked in purple.
The approvers can reject the solution of the issue so the status becomes
Active again, or approve the solution, so the status changes to
Resolved, Approved. The issue will be marked in
blue for all users.
- Once the issues are approved, they can be Closed.