Sometimes it may be necessary to delete issues from a project in BIMcollab Cloud. This could be due to them being created by mistake or being duplicates. This article describes how the space administrator can assign users the right to delete issues within the space, and how these users can delete issues.
Issues in a free project on join.bimcollab.com can not be deleted.
Assign rights to delete issues
The administrator of a space can choose which users are able to delete issues. By default, no users are granted these permissions. To make changes to this setting, follow the steps below:
Go to the Administration dashboard by clicking on
the gear icon in the top right corner
- On the 'Subscription' tab, click 'Space settings'
- Choose the desired setting for 'Issues can be deleted by'. The possibilities for who can delete issues are:
- Project leaders
Project leaders with admin rights
The third option is designed to allow administrators to be temporarily added to a project as a project leader in order to delete issues.
- Click 'Save'
Delete an issue from your project
If you have the right to delete issues from a space, you can do so from the Issues overview of the project.
Issues are permanently deleted, including their history, without the opportunity to be restored.
Be mindful of which issues are deleted. We recommend to only use this possibility when issues have been created multiple times by accident, or issues have been synchronized with the wrong project.
- Go to the Issues page of your project
- To delete a single issue:
- Find the issue you want to delete
- In the hamburger menu, choose 'Delete'
- To delete multiple issues:
- Select the issues you want to delete by marking their checkboxes
- At the top of the page, choose 'Delete'
- Enter your password to confirm you want to delete the issues
- Click 'Delete'
- The issues are permanently deleted from the space, and are no longer part of the history of the project.
It is not possible to delete Smart Issues.
All changes of an issue (like comments, change of status, issue properties, etc.), are always logged and can be referred to when necessary. This is done to ensure a full audit trail of a project, and to make sure issues are dealt with transparently and reliably. Deleting an issue means deleting the full audit trail, and this action is only recommended when errors in synchronization occurred.
In any other case, it is recommended to close issues once they have been resolved. That way the project's history shows all changes that have been made and the preservation of the audit trail is guaranteed.
By setting a filter for the status of the issue, closed issues can be easily hidden from lists.
Each Issue contains its own detailed history including all the changes and comments applied to it. This information can be visible or hidden. Changelog visible When the issue changelog is visible, the information on the following activities will be ...
Delete a user
As an administrator, you can delete users from your space, to suspend their right to login to the space. Go to the Administration dashboard by clicking on the gear icon in the top right corner If you do not see the gear icon, you do not have ...
Delete a project
Only an administrator can delete projects from your cloud. This can be done in the 'Projects' page of the Administration section of a private space. Click on the project's menu and select 'Delete'. When projects are deleted they are placed in a ...
Clone an issue
Issues often don’t come alone. When you need to add multiple issues, they frequently have a lot of properties in common, or need to be assigned to the same person. Instead of having to indicate every issue property again when you create a similar ...
Follow an issue
In Connected and Enterprise plans, in order to keep track of one or multiple issues, it is possible to follow an issue and get notifications about changes to the issue. Notification about a change are sent immediately by email. How to follow or ...