Skip to main content

Project Status: Active, Inactive, and Deleted

This article explains how each of the three project states in BIMcollab: Active, Inactive, and Deleted, should be used and what happens to your project data in each case.

In BIMcollab, the three available project states - Active, Inactive, and Deleted, define the current lifecycle status of a project within BIMcollab. They determine how the project is displayed, accessed, and managed.

Understanding these states helps Administrators and Project leaders manage project lifecycles while maintaining data availability and a clear project overview.

Project states

Active

An Active project is fully operational and intended for projects that are currently in progress with ongoing coordination.

Platform behavior:

  • Visible in the Active project overview.

  • Accessible to users assigned to the project and administrators (based on their project visibility permissions).

  • User can create and edit any applicable project information.

Inactive

An Inactive project is archived but retained within the workspace. Inactive projects are intended for completed projects or projects on hold. Separating inactive projects from active projects keeps the project overview clearer.

Platform behavior:

  • Not visible in the Active project overview.

  • Visible via the Inactive filter, however, they cannot be accessed or edited directly from those lists.

  • All project data remains stored and can be accessed at any time for audit purposes.

  • Can be reactivated by the Administrator from the All projects lists.

Deleted

A Deleted project is used for test, duplicate, or incorrectly created projects which no longer needed to be accessed.

Platform behavior:

  • Not visible in the Active or Inactive lists.

  • Visible via the Deleted filter, however, they cannot be accessed or edited directly from those lists.

  • Projects are never permanently deleted. All project data is stored.

  • Deleted projects can be restored by project leaders.

💡 Tip: Administrators can edit the settings of Inactive and Deleted projects from the All Projects overview. From there, projects details can be edited, and projects can be reactivated or restored.


Deactivate projects

Active projects can be deactivated only by space Administrators, even when they are not a team member on the project. However, projects that are hidden from the administrator can only be deactivated by the Project leader (IS THIS INTENDED?!?!)

To deactivate projects:


Reactivate projects

Inactive projects can be reactivated by:

  • Project leaders from the Inactive project list

  • Administrators (even when they are not a team member on the project), from the All projects list.

To reactivate projects:

💡 Tip: As a project leader, you will see the Inactive filter only if you are a team member on any currently inactive projects.

Did this answer your question?